Apologies that my computer is under repair. I am borrowing some others computer for this entry. Thanks Rachel!

Just wondering if the physiotherapists in Hong Kong are crazy about ESWT and they just anyhow apply this to any soft tissue overuse tendinopathy. I saw this case from a private clinic and this really shocked me – don’t they ever think about the risk of growth plate injury and fracture as one of the risks/ contraindication for ESWT? If this boy’s calcaneus/ tibia is getting deformed in the future, I am not sure if this clinic is going to be run.

Here is the testimonial:

我是鄧裕霖,今年11歲,讀小學6年級。

有一次,上體育課時,我們要練習跑步,我跑了一會兒,不小心扭傷了自己的腳。最初只有少少痛,放學回家後痛了很多,媽媽帶我去看了跌打醫生,看了三次跌打,終於比以前好了很多了,不痛了。所以,我可以繼續上體育堂。開始跑步了一會兒,腳又痛,還比以前痛了很多,放學時,一跛一跛,我很怕會成為跛子。

這次,媽媽帶我看了物理治療。治療師叔叔說是足踝韌帶撕裂,他對媽媽說:『一般會用『衝擊波』治療,很快復原,不過治療時會痛,他年紀小,可以選擇用其他治療方法,不過復原時間要較長。』我對媽媽說:『我不怕痛!』

做『衝擊波』真的很痛,比跌打還要痛,但是我很喜歡它,因為回家時沒有一跛一跛了。第二次已經痛少了很多,第三次只有少少痛,走路已經沒有痛了。第二天,上體育堂時,練習跑步沒有痛了。

我很開心,我可以上體育課了!還可以參加運動會的跑步比賽!

It’s really unprofessional to suggest this modality to such cases. And sadly this is considered as one of the “testimonial" to promote the business. But after I publicize this the testimonial may be a starter for all the nightmares for any necessary legal procedures.

Be sure of what you do, how to do, and why you do. Finally I have got the answer of why I am still surviving here.

